It is 6:00pm and I have made my leaven.
What is in a leaven you may ask?

According to the oxford dictionary, it is generally a substance, typically yeast, that is added to dough so that it may ferment and rise

My instructions were:

For the leaven, transfer into a fresh small, clear bowl 1 tablespoon of your culture from the bottom of the last bowl (as before, just a little bit more). To this, add 12⁄3 cups of flour mix and 1⁄2 plus 1⁄3 of a cup of water. Cover the bowl with a kitchen towel. Incubate it in a cool, dark corner in your kitchen overnight. You should probably prepare the leaven by 7pm at the latest. Post a photo of your culture.

As you can see from the picture, the leaven is huge compared to what I called my previous culture. It’s definitely not as liquified, and it actually stuck to my hand a lot and was hard to get off.

Now that I have my leaven, I will let it incubate over night and in the morning I will do my float test. Curious to see what a float test is? Check back tomorrow morning. I will make sure to clearly explain it with a picture!

image

